hot yoga

One of my favorite models, Rebecca Romijn, was on the cover of the February issue of Fitness. She credited Bikram yoga in helping her shed the 60 pounds she gained while pregnant with her twins.

Bikram Yoga classes run exactly 90 minutes and consist of a set series of 26 postures and 2 breathing exercises. Bikram Yoga is ideally practiced in a room heated to 105°F (≈ 40.6°C) with a humidity of 40%,and is the most popular form of hot yoga (a series of yoga poses done in a heated room).

While I’ve personally never done Bikram Yoga, I do practice Hot Yoga a few times a month. Hot Yoga classes are practiced in a heated room which helps stretch muscle fibers and tendons, and helps prevent injuries to these areas while stretching. The heat also helps increase circulation to tissues and organs, enhances the functioning of the immune system, and provides great healing influence to the entire body. First time students sometimes experience nausea and dizziness from the heat, which comes as a result of not drinking enough water.

I recommend trying Hot Yoga. My favorite local studios are Hot 8 Yoga and Core Power Yoga.

Photo: Us Magazine

2 thoughts on “hot yoga

  1. I love my Bikram Yoga class its helped me so much with old injuries! I also love my new yoga mat its the best yoga mat that I have ever used! I’ve tried so many yoga mats over the years and i’ve found the Jivana as one yoga mat to be the best! You don’t have to put up with the stink of the gross pvc mats. There is no bunching, and no distraction or slipping from a soggy towel. You can also wash it and dry it! I got mine online at http://www.jivanaasone.com Best yoga mat ever!!

  2. I love Bikram Yoga! I started it summer 2011 and completed my first 30 day challenge this Feb & couldn’t feel better. I combined the Bikram practice along with Kimberly Snyder’s book The Beauty Detox Solution. 2012 is off to a great healthy start 🙂

Leave a Reply

