sweet potato veggie burgers

I just made these Sweet Potato Veggie Burgers with Avocado and they were AMAZING! I made a few tweaks to the recipe I found on Marvelous Kiddo via the vegan blog Healthy Happy Life. Here is my updated recipe (with photos):

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans garbanzo beans, drained
  • 5 medium sweet potatoes, peeled/baked/mashed (about 2 cups)
  • 2 tsp maple or agave syrup
  • 1 tsp lemon pepper seasoning
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/4 cup wheat flour
  • plentiful Panko crumbs
  • olive oil for pan
  • For burgers: avocado, hummus, English Muffins, arugula, olive oil, pepper

Peel sweet potatoes, and then bake (I baked in Microwave). Pour drained beans into mixing bowl.

Mash beans and potato together. Mash in lemon-pepper seasoning, flour and agave. Your mixture will be quite soft and moist but you should be able to form a patty. Add more flour or a scoop of breadcrumbs to thicken the mixture if needed. I added a small amount of egg whites to the mixture to help form the patty.

Heat 1 Tbsp olive oil in a pan over high heat. Form a patty from mixture and coat in Panko crumbs (make sure to use thick coating).

Drop the patty in the pan. Repeat until the pan is filled. Cook until browned on both sides.

Transfer cooked patties to plate. Cool for a few minutes. Serve on toasted English Muffin with hummus, avocado and arugula. Makes 7-8 large patties.

Photos Below…

8 thoughts on “sweet potato veggie burgers

  1. I LOVE your blog. I have been telling everyone I know to follow. I made these burgers tonight and they where AWESOME! I also love that I have left overs for another night this week. Funny thing I thought sweet potatoes where the same as yams…. I was happy our grocery store carried the real deal. Keep it up… coming from Cranberry Township (outside of Pittsburgh) PA.

Leave a Reply

