simple spaghetti with kale, lemon & garlic

d62eaf78bb8294259707ec144de74521

Ingredients:

  • Spaghetti for one (a bundle about the diameter of a dime)
  • 2 tablespoons good extra virgin olive oil
  • 5 sprigs lacinato kale (droopy kale is fine), very finely chopped
  • Pinch red pepper flakes
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 large garlic clove, finely chopped
  • Juice of 1 lemon wedge
  • 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese

Cook the pasta al dente according to package directions.

When the pasta is almost done, heat the oil over medium heat in a large skillet. Add the kale, red pepper flakes to taste, and season with salt and pepper. Cook and stir for 3 or 4 minutes, until the kale starts to get a bit crisp. Add the garlic and cook, stirring, for another minute. Add drained pasta, lemon juice, and Parmesan cheese, and stir to combine. Serve immediately.

TIME: 15 minutes – MAKES: Serving for 1 (Double or quadruple the recipe as needed, puling the extra kale on top at the end)

Source: Pinterest, Recipe via Hogwash, Thoughts on Food and Life

 

5 thoughts on “simple spaghetti with kale, lemon & garlic

  1. This was surprisingly delicious! I am new to eating kale other than in my smoothies but the flavor that this dish has is incredible! I just started my journey on eating clean. I had a hankering for pasta tonight, I figured why not try something new! I am so glad I did! Also, even tho I had initially thought the portion of pasta was small this dish was filling! Highly recommend!!

  2. Hi, I’m actually eating this right now. It is delicious! What a great recipe! It goes great with white wine. And the portion size is just enough. Only thing I changed is I used a half can of spinach since I did not have kale on hand.

Leave a Reply

